• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Setting up a Company? be a Director or not?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Setting up a Company? be a Director or not?

Hi

I am new to this contracting lark (well about to be as I am about to hand in notice on Perm job and jump into the Contract market).

I have been reading all sorts of useful (and some confusing) threads.

My first question (and I expect there will be more ) is about setting up my company - I thought I had the paperwork all ready to go and then some contractor (with lots of useful advice after 5 pints - he also mentioned something about getting a receipt ) went and confused me again.

So the question is (yes I know I waffle but have finally got to it) is it better to set up your uk ltd company and just be an employee - i.e. have your (trusted) inlaws as the 2 directors and me any my wife as the 2 shareholders, both as employess - me doing the main breadwinning and the wife doing the accounts / tax / invoice / paperwork / walking the dog etc)?

What are the benefits of not being directors? Are there any? And what happens when one of the directors leaves this mortal world?

Cheers in advance

Jon
    Twitter: jonsmile

Originally posted by JonSmile
    Hi

I am new to this contracting lark (well about to be as I am about to hand in notice on Perm job and jump into the Contract market).

I have been reading all sorts of useful (and some confusing) threads.