• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Starting to draw a sallary mid year

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting to draw a sallary mid year

Okay, I've been contracting for six months and finally have enough invoices paid to begin drawing a regular salary. Now I gather £5,225 is the most tax efficient amount to draw this year and still meet the minimum National Insurance contributions required to get a pension. However, given that we're in month 4 already, can I now take 5225/9 = £580 for each of the remaining months and still meet the NI criteria, or will the fact that NI is worked out on a weekly basis mean this won't get me enough NI to make a qualifying year?

Thanks, Tony.

Can't you back-date PAYE?

Comment

Originally posted by ittony
      Okay, I've been contracting for six months and finally have enough invoices paid to begin drawing a regular salary. Now I gather £5,225 is the most tax efficient amount to draw this year and still meet the minimum National Insurance contributions required to get a pension. However, given that we're in month 4 already, can I now take 5225/9 = £580 for each of the remaining months and still meet the NI criteria, or will the fact that NI is worked out on a weekly basis mean this won't get me enough NI to make a qualifying year?

Thanks, Tony.
      If you're a director NI is worked out per year on a cumulative basis.

So yes take £580 per month.

Comment

Originally posted by Sockpuppet
        If you're a director NI is worked out per year on a cumulative basis.