PDA

View Full Version : Router Set-up



reynolds
15th May 2003, 21:12
I have just had broadband installed on a single Windows PC, but I would like to link up another local Windows PC to use the same internet connection. What is the best way to do this?

AtW
15th May 2003, 23:48
read manual? seriously, you just need to connect PCs to router using normal RJ45 ethernet cables and configure routers to work with your internet connection. you may want to consult manual for that.


AtW

- proud owner of 2 routers

reynolds
16th May 2003, 01:01
cheers AtW. wheres the best place to get routers? whats the usual cost?

LettuceDance
16th May 2003, 07:39
You can use the Speedtouch 570 ADSL modem/Wireless router. Costs about £250 and works a treat .

You'll need a wireless PCI or PMCIA card in at least one of the computers. Check out dslsource.co.uk - they do some good deals.

I set this up without knowing anything about networking remarkably painlessly so t's not rocket science.

EddieC
16th May 2003, 16:31
Reynolds,

Try Dabs.com

reynolds
16th May 2003, 17:02
cheers mon amies

AtW
16th May 2003, 19:49
ok, first WHAT to get: routers are typically 4+ ports - ie you can connect that many devices to them. Its a good idea to buy WiFi capable or enabled routers.

Also watchout for different type of routers: DSL/cable modem (straight rj45 ethernet connection) and ASDL (USB, sometimes ethernet). These are not the same! Some of newer routers include built in ASDL modems.

Wireless: this is a must have, or definately will be - its better to buy router with build in WiFi, sometimes you can get WiFi upgradeable - you can use your own PCMCIA card. If you dont see need for WiFi now, then just buy normal router, you can always buy standalone WiFi access point and connect it to router (like i did).

good consumer grade brands: Linksys, SMC

Places to buy: you can start from Ebay to check min prices you can expect to pay, check local comp fair if you have one near you (www.computermarkets.co.uk - just one example) or try dabs.com, ebuyer.com etc

note: do NOT buy cheap Belkin 4 port router, expect to pay 70-80 quid for brand new 4 port quality router.

reynolds
17th May 2003, 14:16
what about:
www.dabs.com/products/pro...klinx=13K0 (http://www.dabs.com/products/prod-info3-info.asp?&m=y&quicklinx=13K0)

??

AtW
17th May 2003, 19:37
i've got this one :) its not the best -- has issues with blueyonder connections that I use, pain in arse. I sorted it by getting 7 port SMC barricade -- much more mature router. I would not advise to get the cheapest router like Belkin's because there are some limitations in them such as lack of support for Universal Plug and Play - this means MSN won't play nicely for example.

reynolds
4th June 2003, 11:30
whats the slowest PC you could feasibily use on a broadband connection via a router. one of my PC's is slow...i mean REAL slow but i want it for network file storage.

AtW
4th June 2003, 21:54
anything really - 386 upwards.

fancellu
5th June 2003, 00:43
I use a Connexant 4 port

www.dabs.com/products/pro...klinx=17P8 (http://www.dabs.com/products/prod-info3-info.asp?&m=y&quicklinx=17P8)

£59 inc VAT

Its super lovely.

www.adslguide.org.uk/ (http://www.adslguide.org.uk/)

Good place for networking advice.

RobAnt
9th June 2003, 15:25
Yes, this is our first choice (ADSL) router too. Unfortunately, we don't sell them ourselves.

Note that it doesn't suite everyone - online gamers would hate it, for instance. However, I think the latest firmware (probably included) resolves most of those issues too.

In other words, check it can do all you want it to do before buying.

Manufacturers Website (http://www.amigo.com.tw/products/router/AMXCA64E.htm)

It's perfect for SME use. I've had one for well over a year and it has functioned perfectly throughout.

It has a very neat trick. You can use straight or cross over cables in any port and it doesn't give a rats backside. It simply negotiates whatever is plugged in there!