PDA

View Full Version : How would you go about getting car finance?

dotnetter
3rd August 2007, 13:16
I'm looking to buy a new Z4 M Coupe, it's alot of money, I'm a contractor so obviously I can afford the monthly payments.

Problem is, when I was a wee bit younger I defaulted on a loan, well the bastards sent it too the debt collectors after I missed a monthly payment, anyway they put on my credit history as defaulted :mad So my score comes out very poor.

Should I even bother trying to get this much finance? Are there any way I could obtain the credit, or have any of you been on this situation before, I'm guessing the financers would prob take one look and laugh. Also the missus would kill me if I secured the house against it so don't want to be doing that.

SizeZero
3rd August 2007, 13:18
Depends what 'wee bit younger' is. It only stays on your records for 6 years, iirc - if it's longer than that then you don't have to declare it.

dotnetter
3rd August 2007, 13:20
about 4 years ago...

I've checked my credit historu myself and I know my score is poor, so I'm guessing car is out the windows, especially borrowing 30-35k anyway (I have about 10k deposit)

Churchill
3rd August 2007, 13:24
about 4 years ago...

I've checked my credit historu myself and I know my score is poor, so I'm guessing car is out the windows, especially borrowing 30-35k anyway (I have about 10k deposit)

Finance? Cash is king in the world of the contractor m'boy!

richard-af
3rd August 2007, 13:24
about 4 years ago...

Some credit Co. will, undoubtedly, take you on, but the APR will be intergalactic... not sure whether they pass debts down the line if you default again... you may end up with a visit from Messrs. Legbreaker & Armsmasher.

Ruprect
3rd August 2007, 13:25
I'm looking to buy a new Z4 M Coupe,

Are you a hairdresser?

dotnetter
3rd August 2007, 13:27
Are you a hairdresser?

it's not a hairdressers cars its a very quick 2 seater coupe :laugh