• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Tied to a contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tied to a contract

Laws for Contractors
    I'm a contractor and when I decided to resign I was told that Ihad to finish the remainder of my contract or pay a #1000 fine, sum 6 months. I am currently on mycannot wait this long . When I phoned the company I was contracting for they said that they weren't able to send me a copy of the contract that I signed because it was filed and archived. I have a suspicion that this clause forcing me to work the remainder of the contract does not exist. When I initally posted the contracts (two) I was told one would be returned to me but never was. Are they doing anything illegal here? I have also recorded trhe conversation with the company saying that they cannot send me the contract I signed back to me. The company can fire anyone with an hours notice, it doesn't seem fair that we have to finish our contract. Please help!
    Last edited by stevensmith; 22 August 2007, 18:09. Reason: anomity

Oh Dear.

Where does one begin.......

Comment

go in tomorrow, drop your pants, give him some air and bob's your uncle. No contract
      whats the lowest you can do this for?

Comment

Originally posted by stevensmith View Post
        Laws for Contractors