• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting outside of London/Moving to the coast

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting outside of London/Moving to the coast

Hi there everybody

I've been contracting in London (as an Oracle DBA) for many years now, but the time has come to leave this fair (dirty, busy) capital and move to the sticks.

We're thinking about going somewhere near the coast, maybe to Norfolk (around Norwich), or Bournemouth, or anywhere esle near a beach...

I've been getting alerts from Jobserve about these places and there seems to be zero work around.

Is this actually the case? Or do agencies there advertise more locally?

Do any contractors live or work near coastal towns/cities? How do you find the job market?

Any info/thoughts/happy tales would be appreciated

Lou

They ARE thin on the ground on the coast. I've looked into it (Oracle DBA work). You might get something, but then be in the poo position of needing to either commute to London (direct train to Paddington from B'mouth), or sell-up and move back to a city, if/when the job/gig ends. Save up and retire there may be the best you can hope for. Sorry.

Comment

I wouldn't move to Bournemouth, unless you want to practice your fighting skills
      The court heard Darren Upton had written a letter to Judge Sally Cahill QC saying he wasn’t “a typical inmate of prison”.