• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Testing my mutuality of obligation clause

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Testing my mutuality of obligation clause

Hi,

I'm a software developer and have been working for my client for the last 5 months. My current contract ends this week (31st) and I have informed them that I will not be renewing my contract. They have responded to this by putting me on the support desk.

Am I right in assuming, given that my contract has an MOO clause (checked by Bauer & Cottrell) that I can simply walk, which I'm more than prepared to do.

The MOO clause, if I recall correctly, states that the client has no obligation to offer me work and I (my company) has no obligation to accept that work, if offered.

I throw myself at your collective wisdom

Originally posted by Flat Eric View Post
    Hi,

I'm a software developer and have been working for my client for the last 5 months. My current contract ends this week (31st) and I have informed them that I will not be renewing my contract. They have responded to this by putting me on the support desk.

Am I right in assuming, given that my contract has an MOO clause (checked by Bauer & Cottrell) that I can simply walk, which I'm more than prepared to do.

The MOO clause, if I recall correctly, states that the client has no obligation to offer me work and I (my company) has no obligation to accept that work, if offered.

I throw myself at your collective wisdom