• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Sole trader going through an agency

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sole trader going through an agency

Hi - first time poster here.

I'm seeking a bit of advice. I've been contracting for a few years as a VAT registered Sole Trader with a number of clients, always invoicing them directly. Having a couple of quiet months with only a couple of service contracts running until the start of a new project in November I decided to find a short term contract to fill up the time. So, I got a contract for about 8 weeks through an agency which was confirmed Thursday night.

However, the agency say I must go through a Ltd Company (they mentioned this after the offer was made of course). I don't want to start a Ltd Co just for 8 weeks work, neither do I relish paying Employers NI, Employees NI (I already do my own contributions), Tax at emergency rate (I have no P45) and having to chase it up through the revenue months after the contract has finished, and Umbrella Fees. Especially as I'm unlikely to fall within IR35 as I 'll be servicing two other contracts directly in my status as a Sole Trader during this time as well.

The agency say I have to go through a Ltd Company (either my own or an umbrella) by law in order to get paid. Has anyone found themselves in a similar situation, or know of the legislation that they're talking about, as I've not been able to find anything about it.

Many Thanks,

A