• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Getting first contract - advice needed

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting first contract - advice needed

Hi all,

I am looking to move into contracting but need some advice on how to get that important first contract.

A bit of background for you: I initially trained as a teacher and worked as such for 8yrs, the last 5yrs of which were in Italy. I also worked part time as a technical director building a large medical portal.

For the past 3yrs I have had my own business in the S of France doing web design/development and a smattering of networking.

Unfortunately work is not that easy to get here in France so I thought I would try my hand at contracting in the UK or Europe (we plan to come back permanently in 2yrs).

My main problem is that I don't have any real commercial experience and I feel that is holding me back.

Any one got any ideas/advice on what I should do to get my first contract?

Thanks,

Rich

Is the 'large medical portal' likely to give you sufficient experience to blag a job in the health IT sector?

Comment

you see !! you see what's happened, word gets around quickly, they can smell that we're being nice.. i told you it would happen..

<sigh>

what's your area of expertise? what experience do you have? where are you thinking of living?

thank crunchie it's friday, i can't cope with all this niceness
      The proud owner of 125 Xeno Geek Points

Comment

Originally posted by richclever View Post