• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Tax on Motorcylces

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax on Motorcylces

Hi there, please treat me gentle, as I am new to this.

I have read the post http://forums.contractoruk.com/accou...otorcycle.html with regard to taxation of Motorcycles, I have 2 scenarios, in both cases the following bits are the same:

Bike Value when purchased = £2,400
    Annual Business Mileage = 7000
    Annual Personal Mileage = 0
    I am a lower tax rate payer

1) Keep the motorcycle privately owned and claim a daily mileage allowance (7000 miles * £0.24 = £1,680)
    2) The company can purchase the motorcycle from me and run it as a company vehicle

Questions:

On Point 2, if the company purchases the bike is this treated as an expense?

On Point 2 Will the annual taxation calcs be:

Cost £2400
    Benefit in kind at 20% £480

Tax Amount at 20% £96
    NI Amount £61.44

Can I claim the following through the company as an expense?
    a) fuel, servicing
    b) Protective Clothing

How are these items taxed?

The Bike will be changed ever 3 years for another mondel that should not exceed £3,500

Finally, which is the best route, keep the bike private or transfer to the company.

Thanks in advance

Oh yes, just a couple of other hypothical questions......

If I chose to use my own motorcycle, and claim the milage, why type of log do I need to keep.

How would the revenue know if I used my bike or my car, thus changing the amount I would claim.

Comment