• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Back to coding

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Back to coding

Is it possible to go back to being a coder after almost 3 years away from any coding(been doing la di da BA work? )only fed up with chasing people to make business decisions, and all the politics to go with it.

But hold on -I sort of remember when I was a coder I just worked too many hours, if there is a bug when going live / testing you just had to stay all day/night to fix it, and all this server deployment crap, when it goes wrong you got no idea where which part fell through and having to go through the whole end to end application to see the weakest link , not to mention psycho techies who insist on editing everything in Vi ..yuuuuuuk hmmm I think I'll just stick to my PowerPoint slides !!

I'm working on a project at the moment that's so badly organised the developers regularly work weekends and at every go live spend the week before working untill 12 or 1am every night, stick with power point...
    Some people are like slinkys, totally pointless but the thought of pushing them down a flight of stairs never fails to put a smile on your face.

Comment

If you were a competent and skilled coder, then go for. However, it sounds like you weren't so stick to BA work.
      Illegitimus non carborundum est!

Comment

Originally posted by SandyDown View Post