• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

should I stay or should I go now...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

should I stay or should I go now...

..as the song goes.

Current gig is due to end in a couple of weeks. Client has asked if I'd like to stay (which is nice).

However...

It started out as a Java / C++ bugfixing role (which is OK - I'm a developer really but I don't mind fixing other peoples bugs sometimes) but laterly has decayed into software packaging and shell scripts (omg like, ewwwww...)

I tried the old market rates have moved on bit and client was initially open to posibility of increase but then remembered that I was on a higher than average (for them) rate already - agency had initially told me a higher rate to get my interest and then tried to drop it when I got offered the role - I stood my ground and client increased slightly and agency dropped a bit.

So anyways, I have the option to stay but it looks unlikely that I'll get a rate increase and the work is getting really depressing (seriously, if I have to look at another shell script I'll scream).. But... I'd liked to have done another 3 months to get me past crimbo and I suspect the chances of getting another local contract this year are slim.

Decisions.. decisions...

Still, off to Whitby later this week for a few days so maybe a break will help!
    Do what thou wilt

Originally posted by Dark Black View Post
    ..as the song goes.

Current gig is due to end in a couple of weeks. Client has asked if I'd like to stay (which is nice).