• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Not living in the 24/7 world

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Not living in the 24/7 world

Hi

Anyone know what the pros and cons of running an upmarket fish and chip shop are in rural Dorset?

I've been an IT contractor for 7 years and took a permie position in 2001 after IR35 and seeing the market nose-diving. Good move as it turns out as I'm just about to be made redundant and I'm looking to invest the money in a new business.

I'm seriously torn between starting up my own IT business again (never that successful but OK), going contracting (time away from young family is a big negative) or doing something completely different - like running a fish and chip shop.

Most recent posts on this BBS are pretty negative towards the state of the market but I already get client support calls 24x7 wanting the earth but then complaining when I bill them. I've come to the conclusion that SME's don't see any real value in IT support and just expect everything to work all the time. If something goes wrong they're straight on the phone to complain that it's your fault as you were the last person who "did" something on their PC/Network - even if this was 3 months ago (yeah right).

Suddenly the offline world seems more attractive... Can anyone persuade me one way or the other as I have an option for a suitable retail premises to convert in a local villeage without any competition within a 10 mile radius?