• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First Time Contractor Rate Question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Time Contractor Rate Question

Firstly, apologies if I have posted this in the wrong forum, I am new to CUK and have much to learn. I've trawled through many of the threads and seem to have my head partially round the main concepts, so I was just looking for clarification really.

I have just started a new contract (3 months initially, rolling). I was initially interviewed for one position but was offered a more senior role. The agency told me that the client only offered a fixed rate for both positions. I am slightly sceptical about this, because why would two jobs at different levels pay the same rate (the client would find it difficult to fill positions that way). Anyway, I know now from filling in the companies timesheets just how much the agency is getting and I obviously know how much of that I am getting.

My questions are:
    The agency margin is 33%. Is this margin reasonable? I know agencies try to maximise their margins, but is there an average margin that I should be aiming for? Would it be worth approaching the agency at renewal time and asking for a more agreeable (to me) margin? I suppose I could play hardball as I have other options waiting in the wings but I don't know if that's a good idea on my first contract. Should you spend a reasonable time in your first contract?