• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dirty trick?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dirty trick?

Hi I'm new to contracting, trying to get to get my first (proper) contract.

I have a job interview tomorrow which I seem to have all the qualifications for,
    however the agent said on the phone that 'we have a zero day notification time, is this ok?'

This seems to fit in with the dirty tricks list located here http://www.contractoruk.com/news/00430.html

6. They’ll put a clause in your contract that they and the client company can terminate you with a month’s (or a week’s) notice, but that you have no notice period with them.

Can someone explain what the dirty trick is in this case?

The company is Progressive, the women said that I would get paid firstly after one month, and then every week after. Am I being conned so that they can get rid of me before a month without paying for me or something?

Thanks!

I had this clause in my last contract and didn't think anything of it. As far as I'm concerned this is what contracting is all about, you can be terminated at the toss of a coin. As for not paying you for the first month this is rubbish. There is no reason for them not to pay you on a weekly basis straight away. I would assume the only reason they are doing this is because its your first contract and they think they can take advantage of you. You can be sure they'll be invoicing the client weekly...

I wouldn't take the risk of being paid per month I've always insisted per week.

Comment