• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How does one benefit from Claiming expenses from his Ltd. Company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How does one benefit from Claiming expenses from his Ltd. Company

Hi guys,

Hope you all doing well. I am starting to work as a contractor from next month and I have decided to go Ltd after a lot of research.

However I have a simple query regarding claiming expenses. It might sound stupid but thats because i have no knowledge of how accounting and tax works.

My question is, How does one benefit from Claiming expenses from his own with 100% share Ltd. Company?

E.g. My company earns a total of £5000/month. The salary I take out is the minimum salary according to national minimum wage e.g. £1000/month. I pay tax on this e.g. £100. The rest I take out as divident which would be £3900. Now, if I am spending £30/month on travelling and I am claiming £30, how does me or my company benefit from it as compared to not claiming these £30.Because I will get the rest of the amount £3900 as dividend any way.

To Summarise, on monthly basis

Company earns £5000
    My Salary (minimum wage) -£1000
    All kinds of Tax on my wage -£ 100
    I take dividend -£3900

Now if I am paying £30 from my pocket or salary for travelling expenses, why do i need to claim it from my own company when all the money in the company is already mine (I will take them as dividend).