• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working day?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working day?

I guess this has been done before but just wanted to gain the consensus.

Basically I have had the classic line from my manager that as 'professionals', we are expected to work above and beyond the standard 40 hours a week. While I work 45-50 I feel this is adequate to do the role but feel that because I am not putting on the 60-70 hours that others are I am being frowned upon.

While I in many ways I don’t care as I am a contractor and work according to the deliverables I have been set how do you manage these others who are basically implying that I am less professional than them by working less hours?

I am on a daily rate btw.

I do an 8 hour day and don't really care what anyone else says.

Rhubarb.

Comment

Yes it's been done before.

My daily hours vary considerably - Mondays and Fridays are short days because I travel. The rest are long days because I'm busy.

If they have an issue with it, then they need to renegotiate to an hourly contract (which I'd prefer, to be honest). No-one has said anything to me ever about working this way.
      Best Forum Advisor 2014
      Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
      Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment