• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

End of tax year question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

End of tax year question

im new to this whole business and dont know how the system works. I have an accountant that does the taxes for me and everything. I have my own LTD company in IT and only me in it, so working for myself if you will.

This will be my first full year in the business of my own company.

roughly speaking, how much would you expect to pay for the end of year tax? I just had my Q2 tax for 2008 and thats been paid, but this end of year tax in April, how does that work?

how do you determine roughly how much you would be paying? I know, odd and hard question to ask but what factors are to be taken into account? I just want to make sure I have enough money in the business account to pay for...whatever it is I need to pay.

I have been following my "quotes" and what not for my own pay and how much should be left in the business account, but still pretty worried - I guess im just like that.

If you are talking about Corporation Tax for your business then it is roughly 20% of profits this year (rising to 21% and 22% in subsequent years).

You need to pay this 9 months after your company year end.

If your accountant does all your taxes for you why don't you ask this question to them? That's what you are paying them for after all isn't it?

From the phrasing of your question it sounds like you might be confused anyway.

I just had my Q2 tax for 2008 and thats been paid