• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cold Calling

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cold Calling

I've got around 6 years of Entertainment industry experience and I've just finished as permie with one of the large Film Studios to go back to contracting. Now there may be a opportunity to go back there as a contractor but I've been wondering about cold calling other players in the same industry.

What success have others had, and how do you pitch yourself??

Cheers
    Badger!

Originally posted by Badger View Post
    I've got around 6 years of Entertainment industry experience and I've just finished as permie with one of the large Film Studios to go back to contracting. Now there may be a opportunity to go back there as a contractor but I've been wondering about cold calling other players in the same industry.

What success have others had, and how do you pitch yourself??

Cheers
    Badger!
    The way it seems to work is this, dial in, play 95 seconds of Beethovens 5th, or wait till they say 'hello' for the tenth time, whichever comes sooner, turn the music off then say, 'good morning, I am not selling anything today'

Hooks me every time

(\__/)
    (>'.'<)
    ("")("") Born to Drink. Forced to Work

Comment

I've never 'cold-called' and if you have a relationship with someone I wouldn't call it that anyway. It is more just a case of getting back in touch with a contact.

I keep in touch reasonably well and have landed a couple of contracts that way. The vast majority I get via the job boards however.