• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting helps you to really know yourself

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting helps you to really know yourself

If this has been mentioned before, I have certainly missed it. When I was contemplating a career as a contractor I didn't fully appreciate how much time I would be spending in my own company. Obviously there are those periods when some of us are on the bench for extended periods, and then there are those situations when you are on a job but pretty much secluded from others, or excluded by way of being a stranger. I found these periods with a lack of human interaction unsetlling initially, but over time I have been able to exist for weeks contentedly without so much as a conversation, which I think is an extremely positive thing.

Of course, these periods are interspersed with seeing my friends on occasion and so on, but I think it's a positive sign of sanity when you can be content in your own company for extended periods without needing validation from, or interaction with, others.

In fact, I have found myself becoming quite philosophical about life since contracting, taking away the routine structure of regular employment really makes you question the true meaning of life and the universe, and the fact that most people's existences are made up of the 9-5 grind, and they are so caught up in this that they don't question this with any real vigour.