• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Daily Rates

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Daily Rates

I was just musing over my previous contracts and remembered that my daily rate 10 years ago was more than my current daily rate.

Originally posted by Jubber View Post
    I was just musing over my previous contracts and remembered that my daily rate 10 years ago was more than my current daily rate.
    I was a student 10 years ago, my daily income was about £20
    ǝןqqıʍ

Comment

Ten years ago, isn't this roughly when New Labour came to power?

Comment

Counting...

11 years and 6 days to be precise.

Comment

I'd suggest you're doing something wrong then...
          Older and ...well, just older!!

Comment

Same here, though I was probably overpaid back then!

Comment

Thought this was going to be another poll... been a while since we've had a daily rate poll... Wasn't this the last one?
              It's about time I changed this sig...

Comment

Originally posted by ratewhore View Post
                I'd suggest you're doing something wrong then...
                Not at all - just goes to show this boom bust cycle. I was in Telecoms then - massive boom - network rollouts all over the world, plump daily rates, then suddenly at the end of 2001 - BUST. Rates halved.

My current rate is only marginally lower than those heady days, but I work in finance now - and I wouldn't be surprised if the rate will be once again cut to the bone for a while very shortly.