• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Maximise take home pay

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Maximise take home pay

Hi,

I'm a contracting newbie. I have a limited company with me as sole director and sole employee. I've been told the best way to run my limited company is to have a low salary (£10k), then take the rest as dividends. But taking dividends over £26k in a tax year incurs 25% tax, which is BAD! So anything over £26k should be left in the company. The company is then closed every 2 years and you apply for entrepreneur's relief through capital gains. This only incurs 0-6% (depending on circumstances).

Is this the best way to run a company? Are there any other ways to maximise take home pay? Also, doing things this way means I can only take £10k + £26k a year. How can I take more out of the company if I need it?

Thanks

Go away. Read the guides. Read the advice in the stickies in the Legal/Accounting board. Don't read the Beano or listen your ill-advised mates.

Come back when you can frame a sensible question.
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment

Originally posted by malvolio View Post
      Come back when you can frame a sensible question.
      He opened his question with "I'm a contracting newbie" i.e. he's only just started and needs to ask loads of questions to learn how it all works. I really don't understand why, on every internet forum I've been on, there's always someone who enjoys nothing more than giving himself a stiffy by making newbies feel stupid.