• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Anyone else having trouble getting work? - advice needed

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone else having trouble getting work? - advice needed

Hey everyone,

I am recently new to London, I'm a 2nd/3rd level support analyst with almost 10 years experience, 2 years contracting. I got my 1st contract before I got here through friends where i used to work in Australia so It worked out really well.

Anyway, I have put in for a ton of jobs from CWjobs, Jobserv etc, gotten alot of call backs from recruitment agents only to offer me other roles out of scope or telling me they are putting me forward for an interview telling me my cv is great, sounding very promising but never hear back from them again.

It's been about 4 weeks or so of reasonably hard looking and I'm yet to land a single interview. Everyone back home kept telling me it's easy to find work so what is going on!!!

In Australia I almost have my choice of roles. If something doesn't happen soon i'll have to pack up and go home and it's starting to get really nice and warm lol

Any advice would be appreciated!!!!

Thanks

James

Originally posted by jamie_in_london View Post
    In Australia I almost have my choice of roles. If something doesn't happen soon i'll have to pack up and go home and it's starting to get really nice and warm lol

Thanks

James
    Book your ticket now.

Comment

The second contract is the hardest to land.