• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Re-training

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Re-training

Hi
    Having been made redundant from a permie job, I am back in contracting again. Have a nice contract at the moment (hoping to get renewed at the end of the 6 months), but I am a mainframe COBOL programmer, and am concerned about how long I can keep going with just these skills.
    I am thinking about investing in re-training, but am not sure what it's worth doing, how to go about it etc.
    I did get some UNIX/Oracle training at my last job and, although I didn't get to use it much, wondered if it would be worth continuing with this. Am quite interested in LINUX (have an eeePc), but don't know whether this is gaining popularity commercially or not? Have also thought about moving more into the 'technical' side than application development.
    Also, would it be worth working towards certification? I realise I will probably end-up in the old dilemma of not being able to get a job without the experience, and not being able to get the experience without a job, but would like to at least be working towards a 'Plan B'.
    Any advice would be much appreciated.

Originally posted by pete66 View Post
    Hi
    Having been made redundant from a permie job, I am back in contracting again. Have a nice contract at the moment (hoping to get renewed at the end of the 6 months), but I am a mainframe COBOL programmer, and am concerned about how long I can keep going with just these skills.