• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

contractor burnout ... career break?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

contractor burnout ... career break?

hi all

I've been contracting for the past 4 years and was a permie developer for about 7 years before that! The contract I'm on now is the best pay I've ever had. It's quite a good working atmosphere too but the actual project I'm on ain't the most interesting ... (reporting/invoicing/MIS etc ..yawn) ... even though the money is good, I'm just not motivated by it anymore
    I'm blaming the contract I'm on but I'm wondering if it would be different on any other contract!

Have I got a dose of contractor burnout?
    Anyone else had these symptoms?

What about a career break? Has anyone felt like me and then just jacked it in golne travelling for 3 to 6 months? What did you do when you got back?

Originally posted by hgllgh View Post
    What about a career break? Has anyone felt like me and then just jacked it in golne travelling for 3 to 6 months? What did you do when you got back?
    Yes, for the last couple of years I have skipped winter.
    It has taken me 3-4 weeks each time to get a contract upon my return to Europe. This year I'll probably work through. good, but boring, contract and I need to top-up my pension fund - getting near retirment age...
    Bored.

Comment

Do what I do: cycle to the client, each cadence say to yourself "Show me the money"

More often I sing Wombles songs, but you get the basic idea.

threaded in "healthy body, healthy mind" mode