• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Best Ground Coffee

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Ground Coffee

Following on from the Instant thread, please give some recommendations for ground coffee.

I'm a newbie where ground coffee is concerned, but have a very good espresso machuine. Usually make Latte.

I liked Waitrose Columbian.
    And Gaggia Intense (Pods)

Thanks

Originally posted by Archangel View Post
    And Gaggia Intense (Pods)
    Ach

Step 1: Get yourself a grinder.
    Step 2: Buy some good coffee beans. I've been told the Jamaican Blue Mountain variety are the best, but I prefer a harsher taste, so I buy Illy 100% Arabica, works for me.
    Step 3: Put the coffee beans in an airtight container and keep them in the freezer.
    Step 4: When you want a coffee, pop the kettle on, grab beans from freezer and grind away (this takes seconds), put coffee in whatever you're using to brew (cafetiere, stovetop espresso thingy, full-on coffee machine like the gaggia cube et al), and away you go.

Since switching to freshly ground, I'd say the coffee's 2 or 3 times better than pre-ground, easily. Chuck the pods in the bin, they're disgusting.

And yes, I'm a coffee snob, sorry about that.

Comment

Agree - Beans are SO much better than ground! I use one of those stovetop espresso makers, drink the whole lot and I'm buzzing for hours after that!

Tesco Finest Columbian beans are really nice, and Harrods do some lovely flavoured ones if you fancy splashing out.

Comment