• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Obscuro: Anyone know what the Market is like in Canada

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Obscuro: Anyone know what the Market is like in Canada

Strange question.

My wife's just been on the phone with news that a friend of hers is thinking of moving to Canada. Great, only thing is, she's been at me to do the same for ages, but I don't know anything about the IT market there.

I've been contracting in the UK for the past 3 years and would like to get some info on what the contract rates are like there. (or permie, but I don't see much point in permie positions).

If anyone wants reference points, I have been earning between £350 and £450 per day, depending on location, (The north west is not as lucrative as london).

I'm in dev for the past 10 years, ranging from multiple rdbms systems to various programming languages.

General info on moving abroad: http://britishexpats.com/forum/
    Rule #76: No excuses. Play like a champion.

Comment

Anecdotally the contract market is very limited over there, it's not really a recognised method of working. Saying that permie pay rates vs cost of living are apparently much beter then they are here.
      "Being nice costs nothing and sometimes gets you extra bacon" - Pondlife.

Comment

Thanks Dave,

I figured as much. Itis not that I'm averse to a permanent job per sey, it's just that I regard all jobs as contract with one distinction;

1; people who know they are on a contract and get paid for such;