• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Unpaid invoice liability

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unpaid invoice liability

Hi all
    I'm new to contracting in London, and have a question regarding unpaid invoices. I'm with a respectable umbrella company, who I have no complaints with. The company I'm doing work for is having financial problems, and I have 2 unpaid invoices. The client has 30 days to pay an invoice after receiving it, and the one invoice (June) is now 27 days overdue.
    They have been sent 7 days notice by my umbrella, and are now being sent court proceedings, but I'd just like to know where the liability lies in the event that the client gets liquidated, or doesnt pay for whatever reason.
    I am an employee of the umbrella, so am I covered for work that I've done? I cant take any action against the client, as they have a contract with the umbrella to pay within 30 days of receiving an invoice. That contract has now been broken, so the umbrella has to fight for the money, but where do I stand?
    Under the Employment Rights Act, does the umbrella have to pay me for work I've done? And then fight it out with the client in the event of non payment?

Any info or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

your contract of employment is with the brolly - they should pay you whatever happens with the client - unless of course there is a condition in your contract with them - check it out asap.
    Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

Comment