• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

CVs - an optimal approach...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CVs - an optimal approach...

Like a lot of posters here, I suspect, I consider myself technically adept. I have been contracting since 1996 - principally for one client... where the work was extraordinarily varied, technically challenging and interesting. I am now looking to broaden my horizons and look for work that is not necessarily purely technical in nature... maybe looking to take a more active management role; maybe taking architectural or analytical responsibility... all with a long term view to eventually become CTO, or similar, of a medium-to-large organisation... or, at least, to have an interesting career heading in that direction - or, alternatively, finding me pursuing a senior role at an established consultancy.

I suspect that one of my stumbling blocks is that my CV mainly emphasises my technical abilities - and I am keen to broaden the scope of my appeal. I certainly don't see myself as only capable of performing within a narrow remit, but I get the impression that this is what people infer from a CV listing extensive technical experience. I feel that my hands-on background would be of significant benefit with roles from project management to enterprise-wide technological strategy.