• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Further qualifications and the BCS

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Further qualifications and the BCS

I have been performing a BA role for about 3-4 months now, this is my first job out of university and its been a very slow start. I am thinking of further qualifications to give me a more rounded exposure to the industry and I was thinking of joining the BCS and undertaking their professional examinations. As I already hold a degree would this be benefit with regards to my next job, gaining knowledge/experience and eventually contracting or would a masters in something along the lines of information systems be better? The only problem with masters is the actual cost.

Thanks for your help and any input would be greatly appreciated.

Get some experience then complement it with a Masters, or with some certs. Those alone on their own probably won't hold up in the contract market without experience to back it up.

I've got both experience and qualifications and whenever I go for interviews 95% of the focus is on previous experience and previous roles. The certs/degrees just give them an indication you can work at a certain level, or can double back things up... don't expect them to be blown away by qualifications standing on their own.
    The cycle of life: born > learn > work > learn > dead.

Comment

Originally posted by Fairly New graduate View Post