• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advise needed following contract review

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advise needed following contract review

Hi Newbie here, just recently been offered my first contract role!! Had the contract reviewed by B&C on Friday and was told that it had failed and that it would be difficult to win if it ended up in court.

In light of the contract being inside of IR35, its not financially worth me taking the role, and would be better of staying as a perm. Does this give me leverage with the agent to up the daily rate?? What have others in similar situations done?

Many thanks for your help

Find out what parts of the contract are IR35 bound and get the pimp to change them in accordance with what the review recommends. If they don't, then walk if it's not financially viable to do the contract.
    Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able? Then he is not omnipotent. Is he able, but not willing? Then he is malevolent. Is he both able and willing? Then whence cometh evil? Is he neither able nor willing? Then why call him God? - Epicurus

Comment

I'd jump now.

You got to think about the higher contract as well.

Comment

In light of a recent court case (Dragonfly) it is my opinion that changing the wording of the contract to be outside IR35 will lose you any court case should the change be noted.
        It is also likely that the contract between agent and client will not be changed