• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

A reasonable starting rate

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A reasonable starting rate

Hi there,

I'm new to this contracting business and am talking to a potential client about a 4 month contract. They're only offering 250/day while working in central london, which although seems almost reasonable to me looks very low compared all the stuff I see on this board and others like it. I'm very good at what I do (web developer), so don't want to underprice myself.

Any thoughts? I was gonna go back and ask for something in the region of 350-400/day, which seems more in line with the general trends.

Any advice appreciated!!

what is always said on this forum if your happy with the rate then go for it....if your not then demand higher but what if the agent say no ? will you walk away or accept the original price ?

Personally i work out my personal rate...bolt on top travel expenses and this is the rate i say...if they aren't happy then i say no and walk away

Good luck
    Thats the way the cookie crumbles

Comment

If you are talking to the client directly then you are in a much better position. Will you have to stay over for the gig? Try and bolt on travel and accommodation expenses. If you have to stay over the rate does seem a bit low.

If you are local and that's all it's paying, then yes, why not. 250 a day is still over a grand a week. Much needed experience on the CV, London client, may lead to bigger better things. Go for it.