• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Need some "rates" advice please!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need some "rates" advice please!

Hi all,

I'm new to the contracting scene so I'm hoping a few of you can help me out.

Basically, I'm 19... have had about 7 months worth of contracting experience developing in VB6 / VBA (In Access & Excel) and package deployment suites like Installshield etc. At the moment, I feel like I've got a bit of a bad deal. I typically charge £35 a day (haven't really got static rate). Anyway, I did a very small contract for a small company local to me only last week and I have been thinking about my rates and whether I am under-charging. The boss seems to think £35 is fair (of course he'd say that) but there's no real "convention" for someone to figure out how much they're worth on a per hour / day basis when running your own business.

So, I wanted your opinions on what I should charge. Bear in mind my age, experience and skills please!

VBM
    People say I'm lazy... but I like to think I'm just energy efficient...

Some things can influence your daily rate

Is your Mother a one armed Lesbian
    and does your dad inject drugs into his penis?

Comment

£35 pd on a 7.5h day is £4.66ph.....you may as well work in Tescos and get £5++Ph.

I'd have *guessed* at around the £10-£12ph mark - but why not do a search on the job section see what people are paying.
      SA says;
      Well you looked so stylish I thought you batted for the other camp - thats like the ultimate compliment!