• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is this you?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this you?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/7671199.stm

KALPESH PATEL, 38, IT CONTRACTOR, LONDON

I am caught in a Catch-22 situation at the moment, which is why I felt motivated to speak out, but I also don't think there is a true reflection of the situation being presented through the news and through government figures.

I work in IT as a contractor and that means I have had to form a limited company. I haven't had any work since April, but I can't sign on because if I do then I will need to dissolve my company. If I dissolve the company then I can't look for work as a consultant or contractor.

There are a lot of people like me who are looking for work, but who are not showing up in the figures because we're holding onto our status in case we do find work. It's difficult to know how to break that circle, but there will be a lot of consultants and contractors in the same situation.

I am looking for permanent roles as well as because I don't think I could go another six months without work. I'm spending my whole time - day and night - looking on the web for work.

It is stressful and it's not helping my Crohns Disease. I don't really go out unless it is to do some shopping, and even then I have had to cut back and be very careful there. Eating a good diet when you have Crohns can be quite expensive.

I can see light at the end of the tunnel, or at least I have to believe that I can.