• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Looking for work, wife up the duff; should I tell agents?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking for work, wife up the duff; should I tell agents?

G'Day,

Curious to hear others' opinions re: how honest to be up front with agents and potential employers.

In brief, I'm a UK contractor, finished last contract in November and started (mid-December) to look for work again. My wife's also pregnant with our 1st and due (touch wood) early March.

When speaking to agents, I *haven't* mentioned the fact that I'll probably want a week off at the time; I've also had 2 interviews and not mentioned the fact either.

My question is would any of you out there mention this fact during an interview with a client or a chat with an agent? I know a pregnant partner should not influence a job application, but in practise, I firmly believe it would be an "un-said" influence. In both my interviews so far, I was asked about time off in the next X months due to tight timescales, and both times I've just waffled about "a few days off in March, but that's about it." Am I being deceptive knowing that it might be more than a few days, and I couldn't give exact dates yet? Would complete disclosure be better? Would the answer change if I'm applying for permanent jobs?

Just curious as to others' opinions.

Cheers