• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Arm being twisted to go Permie

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Arm being twisted to go Permie

I've been contracting for just over 2 years for an IT and Business Services Co. having spent many years working as a Permie Developer for the end Client, a Global Insurance Giant.
    In the downturn they are whittling the contractor numbers down by not renewing, cutting rates and in a few cases, myself included, asking people to go 'Permie'.
    I don't want to go Permie - I like not having appraisals! More seriously, I'm building up a nice pot in the Company and I don't want to wind it up and take the money out yet for tax reasons.
    I know that my rate is lower-middle so with the on-costs of ERNI and 30% employer's pension contribution being Permie would cost them much the same assuming anything approaching a half decent Salary.
    I've fobbed them off for about 9 months, but they are now dropping heavy hints that its Permie or nothing - Ie no renewal in March.
    It looks like a case of "We want to keep you, but there's only money in the Permie Pot, not in the Contractor pot". Sounds stupid but I've been working in Corporates for 27 years and I know that managers are often hamstrung by directives from on high.
    So what to do? I could just give in and become a drone again. There's probably a good 5 years work available. If I do, won't the Revenue start asking questions about 2+ years taking income via a Ltd Co.? (I have IR35 insurance though).