• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Please Advise - im new to contracting!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please Advise - im new to contracting!

Hi there Guys and Girls

Am looking for advice. I can only hope some of you will appreciate the situation im in, my concerns and my apprehension to go into contracting, so any advice will be grateful, so here goes.

Im a QA Analyst for a large insurance intermediary (namely a well known comparison website.) but thats irrelevant at present.

A colleague of mine earns a substantial amount compared to me, considering we do the same job, and i found out why, shes a contractor.

Further investigation into this, it looks very appealing, but i have alot of questions. a friend of a relative of mine is an I.T buyer, and shes earns bucks as a contractor, but i prefer an outsiders advice and guidance so to speak.

How did you get started?

can you negotiate hours with potential employers?

can you choose which geographical areas you work in?

do you negotiate day rates?

how do they pay you?

do you use an umbrella company, if so, can you recommend one?

is it better to be a ltd company or use a umbrella company?

what exactly does IR35 mean?

the list is endless, im sure you can tell. id go contracting tomorrow if i could, but i the risk of jacking in a perfectly good job, and going it "alone" riskinging not being employed for a few months is very daunting since i have a mortgage to pay.