• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Benefits to forming limited company on April 6th

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Benefits to forming limited company on April 6th

Hello everyone. First-time poster.

I am a contractor currently working through an umbrella company but looking to start my own limited company.

Easy question as per the title: will forming my company to start trading on April 6th make my corporation/personal tax easier to calculate if I wanted to look after my own accounts?

Basis periods have never been a strong point. Please don't reply with "get an accountant". It is merely an option at this point, and I am in no hurry.

THANKS

Limited Company 6th April

Hi Guitarist,

Interesting question this one.

If you start your company anytime in April you will automatically have a year end allocated for end April. So If you start a company in April you could choose your year end to be 6th April and advise HMRC and Companies House.

But.....

Corporation Tax Changes tend to start on 1st April, whereas personal tax changes start on 6th April so you would not have a big advantage in forming a company on 6th april.

If you decide on a Limited Company then I would go online and form it anytime. ( Its £25.57 here ) You could then choose the year end which is convenient to you.

March 31st may be a consideration. Useful if you are inside IR35 as the final accounts can all be reconciled with the deemed payment calculation. But outside IR35 it gives you less room to move on dividends.