• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract Renewed then shortened!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract Renewed then shortened!

Hi all,

I'm new to the the forum but have read some of the posts on here which has been most helpful - being a novice to contracting 'n all!

I would be grateful for an opinion really! I'm a contractor novice and I had my first official contract via <agency> last year for a 6 month contract at a Investment Bank Clientco. This comes to an end this week! Two weeks ago I signed a 6 month contract renewal. Today I receive another contract renewal with an email advising that the contract is now for 3 months.

In short, can they do this even I have signed for 6 months. It isn't a new contract just an extension document.

Any advice appreciated!

PMOmonster
    Last edited by PMOmonster; 29 January 2009, 10:14. Reason: Removing name

what is the notice period on the original contract, the first extension and adjusted extension?

Comment

Your contract is only ever as long as your notice period. Not a lot you can do.
      ǝןqqıʍ

Comment

Please be wary about quoting the agencies name. I know for a fact that the guy in question trawls this site and gets, er,
        very protective.

(\__/)
        (>'.'<)
        ("")("") Born to Drink. Forced to Work

Comment

Originally posted by DiscoStu View Post
          Spot on. Even if it says 3 months, 6 months, 10 years, the reality is the notice period.

Comment