• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Bullying advice ....

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bullying advice ....

Hi all

I am new to these boards but I have been contracting for many years and I have found myself in a very peculiar situation.

Anybody who knows me would tell you I am very easy to get along with and I am always professional and courteous when it comes to dealing with work and work colleagues. However, recently I have found myself in a situation where my boss (another contractor) is all 'nice-as-pie' to my face but when my back is turned he is questioning my professionalism and commitment to my work when speaking to other people. I know this because they tell me and it's not just one person who he has spoken to it's several.

They all think it's quite funny.

When they have pushed him for examples, he is reluctant to provide any but recently he has stated that my timekeeping is not good and he has had complaints about me. My project manager (permie, sits opposite me every day) knows this is not true and has even asked him for proof to prove these allegations but my boss just says that he doesn't have anything to hand and/or he cant be specific for any dates and times.

It's all very strange but the problem is that my boss (a contractor like me) has the power to renew or terminate my contract next month and my PM (permie who likes my work, is happy with what I am doing for him and wants to keep me on) cant do anything if my boss wants to fire me.