• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Software developers?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Software developers?

Hi All,

I was wondering should I start contracting in London. I've been working for a couple years(six to be precise) as a permanent. And now despite the tough market I'm thinking about going for a contract.

Can anyone share experiences with a newbie to contracts and let me know what to watch for? Which agencies to avoid and so on.

I went through uk contractor guide but it's always best to hear some news from the source.

Thanks
    Jedrzej

Its been said before. Now isn't a good time for contracting. I would wait a year.

Comment

Originally posted by Jedrzej View Post
      Hi All,

I was wondering should I start contracting in London. I've been working for a couple years(six to be precise) as a permanent. And now despite the tough market I'm thinking about going for a contract.

Can anyone share experiences with a newbie to contracts and let me know what to watch for? Which agencies to avoid and so on.

I went through uk contractor guide but it's always best to hear some news from the source.

Thanks
      Jedrzej
      Yes, its a great time to start. Try looking here: http://www.jobserve.com/

All the best and good luck.
      I'm better than dirt. Well, most kinds of dirt, not that fancy store-bought dirt... I can't compete with that stuff.

Comment

Originally posted by Rookie View Post
        Yes, its a great time to start. Try looking here: http://www.jobserve.com/