• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Who am I?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Who am I?

Ok, admittedly this is probably a stupid question but there goes;

I am a contractor with my very own limited company. My company pays me the basic personal allowance (£4895) in salary in my capacity as Director, the rest dividends. Heres the question....am I self-employed in the eyes of Inland Revenue for my personal self-assessment, or an employee of my Ltd Company? I am not sure which self-asssessment to complete???

I am registered on my company payroll, and complete the P35 jazz, so am thinking I complete the self-assessment as an employee, not self-employed.

Is that a crazy question?

Originally posted by zeitghost
    Bet you're not regarded as self employed, whatever... but I'm sure much more switched on members of the congregation than me will be here to advise you soon...
    The giant alien lizard is correct. You fill in the employee section.

Comment

Slightly off topic, but related....

So should you declare yourself as an employee when applying for loans or mortgage? I guess the problem in these circumstances is the low basic salary?

Comment

Well you have a payroll record with your company which would with hold tax and NI if you paid enough so I think you have your answer - 100% employee.