• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Mortgage for a new Contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mortgage for a new Contractor

Hi,

I have been contracting for around 4 months (since Oct 2008). Have got 2 months left in the current contract, but have also been informed on email about a confirmed 6 month extension (till Oct 2009).

I am looking to buy a repossesed flat which is being offered at around 140K. I am planning to make a down payment of 35K (25%), and take a mortgage for 105K.

Am in touch with 1-2 mortgage advisors, but thought it will be good if I can ask for some advice on this forum also.

It will be great if any of you can share any information/advice/experience regarding getting the best possible mortgage in the current climate, considering my personal details provided above.

Thanks.

It's extremely difficult getting a mortgage now without a large deposit according to the Daily Mail yesterday. As a contractor you will also need to show at least two years accounts and get your accountant to verify salary for the third year.

I'm through First Direct/HSBC via the above method with an offset mortgage.

Good Luck !!

Comment

contractormoney used to offer woolwich flexible mortgages based on rate. Don't know if they do now though...
      Older and ...well, just older!!

Comment

Originally posted by Pegasus View Post
        Hi,