• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

UK Civil Liberties: RIP

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UK Civil Liberties: RIP

Beyond a joke now.

I used to work part-time as a jobbing junior press photog for the newly-launched Indepenent in the 1980s to earn a bit of cash while studying at uni.

I covered the Salman Rushdie demo in Hyde Park. Radical Islam on the streets was a new phenomenon then, and bloody scary.

As for the press: The old lags and staffers stood off from the crowd with long lenses, but ordered the troops (me and other junior photojournalists) into the fray with wide angle lenses and cries of "get in their faces!".

The coppers were bouncing out of vans dressed up like something from Starwars - grunting and shouting, and mad for beating someone up.

I got an inside half-page shot in the Indie. The other photogs and journos dragged me to the pub - we got pissed and laughed. The next day, through my hangover, I realised the press was shyte and I wanted no part of it.

You've come right out the other side of the forest of irony and ended up in the desert of wrong.

Comment

Originally posted by bogeyman View Post
      I used to work part-time as a jobbing junior press photog for the newly-launched Indepenent in the 1980s to earn a bit of cash while studying at uni.

I covered the Salman Rushdie demo in Hyde Park. Radical Islam on the streets was a new phenomenon then, and bloody scary.