• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Client Co Changing working days

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Client Co Changing working days

I hope someone might have an idea on how to handle this situtaion.

I had been working at client for 5 months with 2 renewals as a Wintel BAU Support person.

They then offered a renewal being part of a Datacentre move team and have extended a 6 month contract until end of March 09.

At the time of the the project change they mentioned it could run for 12 months so I thought it would be a good run but the were vague on the requirement of weekend work and said it might be possible.

It turns out now we are about to start moving the "Live" environment (Test/dev complete in business hours). They have now mentioned that "due to having no more budget" that the require me to work Mon-Thur 7.5 hours as normal but work the Sunday or Saturday (depending on move schedule) to complete my 5 day week.

At first Indicated that my contract states Mon-Fri working 37.5 hours and weekends I would normally invoice Sat- 1.5x and Sun 2x rate and this went down like a lead balloon.

The client mentioned 3 options:

1) Work the Mon-Thur + 1 day on weekend- Their preferred option. for same rate as a standard week.

2) Work Mon-Fri -Maybe they would pay just normal day rate for weekend
    (the option I suggested "in current climate I would find acceptable to show my willingness to accomodate their change in requirements)