PDA

View Full Version : How do I stand as a contractor on getting a new chair for H&S reasons?

butlera
10th October 2005, 09:55
I'm a contractor working for a company 3 days a week

I used to be a full time employee of another company and I had a bad back so H&S got me a new chair.

How do I stand as a contractor on getting a new chair for H&S reasons?

milanbenes
10th October 2005, 09:59
you go for it mate,

ask them for a company car and an index linked final salary pension while you're are at it

you never know, if you don't ask...

Milan.

boredsenseless
10th October 2005, 10:01
I don't think you qualify by rights although they'll probably accomodate if it doesn't cost them anything

tim123
10th October 2005, 10:45
This is a really tough one. Technically, they would be on the wrong end of a pay-out if you became incapable of working, having told them of the problem and they did nothing.

But OTOH why would you expect them to get you a new chair, if they already have complianent chairs for the rest of their staff.

You probably have some rights under the DDA, even as a subbie, some companies will have no problem with complying but others will just ignore the problem until they just decide not to re-new you.

Tim

sb5spa
10th October 2005, 10:45
There is a H&S obligation on the company to supply you with a chair which meets your health requirements and dos not cause you injury. The fact that you are not an employee is neither here nor there.

milanbenes
10th October 2005, 10:54
alright,

ignore the noddies

look mate, you're a contractor right ?

have a word with your boss and tell him about the
back problem and ask him if he wouldn't mind if
you bring your OWN special back supporting chair

now that is the professional contractor solution

going and asking the boss to provide one, you're on a
hiding to getting kicked out or not extended

also buying your own when the contract finishes you can use it in your
home office

here endeth the lesson

Milan.

hyperD