• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Boeing 777 - it's quite safe as long as you are flying to somewhere warm

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Boeing 777 - it's quite safe as long as you are flying to somewhere warm

I'm only flying Airbus from now on... As an engineer I'm astonished such safety measures are swept aside by Boeing.
    "Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience". Mark Twain

Originally posted by scooterscot View Post
    I'm only flying Airbus from now on... As an engineer I'm astonished such safety measures are swept aside by Boeing.
    Remember when Concorde had it's one and only accident.

The whole fleet was grounded, even though the accident was considered a freak event.

They had to re-enforce the fuel tanks and undercarriage - and because this meant more weight, they had to redesign a stack of other things to make them lighter (even down to redesigning the seats).

Only then were they allowed to fly again - over a year later.

At the time I was thinking "every time a Boeing falls out of the sky, they don't ground every 747/777/727 in the world"....

But I guess it will be cheaper to pay millions in compensation if people die, then to compensate airlines for billions for taking their planes out of commission for a year.

Comment

Eeek

It's not only flying to somewhere warm, you've got to get back to cold old blighty

Yup, Airbus for me too
      'elf and safety guru

Comment