• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is it as bad as it looks?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is it as bad as it looks?

Hi everyone -

I had to take an enforced absence from work, but i'll be coming back to it (hopefully) soon. I'm a DBA with 10 years experience, mainly Oracle, but also SQL and Sybase, and have contracted in all different industries. I used to be based in London, but will now be looking for work in Manchester...

I looked on Jobserve...not so good.

I looked on Jobstats...

Is it really so bad? Is there any work out there at all? Not just contract, but permie stuff too...

Like I said, i've been out of the races for 8 months now, so the recession job market has passed me by a bit.

What's it really like out there? When do people think it will pick up? Perhaps before the end of the year?

Cheers
    Lou

Originally posted by LouC View Post
    Is it really so bad? Is there any work out there at all? Not just contract, but permie stuff too...
    There are still roles out there, but few of them are being advertised as they are being filled long before that point.

Also rates are very depressed at the moment. It's a buyers market and Client/Agents are using that market force to the fullest.

Try and see if any of your old contacts have anything at the moment. Like I said, there is still the demand, but it is easier to fill, so they don't need to go anywhere near JobServe etc.

I keep thinking this will pick up in about 6-12 months time, but I've been saying that for the past 12 months

Comment