• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Can't wait to come home

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't wait to come home

So I've been working on the mainland for 3 months, found out the other day that contract won't be renewed. Can't wait to come home.

I've had fun, went snowboarding a fair few times. And lived in a different city. But I'm getting pretty damn bored here.

I miss London, friends and family.

So I have 23 days to go! roll on home!

Does anyone else stay in the place they are working when they're away from home? or do you go back every weekend? Going back every weekend might have made it better, but then again I can imagine it would have seemed like even more of a chore if I was having to travel so much.

It's raining here, half the shop fronts on the high street are boarded up as businesses crash, there are no jobs, most of the population are turning into chavs.

Welcome back.
    Hard Brexit now!
    #prayfornodeal

Comment

Being away usually makes you appreciate all the small stuff that's good about home, and applies a nice rose-tint to all the crappy stuff. Which can increase the shock of getting home again.

But I agree it *is* getting a bit dire here, so be prepared....

Comment

Originally posted by Mehmeh View Post
        So I've been working on the mainland for 3 months, found out the other day that contract won't be renewed. Can't wait to come home.

I've had fun, went snowboarding a fair few times. And lived in a different city. But I'm getting pretty damn bored here.