• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

UK London Contractor Living in Germany

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UK London Contractor Living in Germany

Hello,

I'm a UK contractor who is now living in Germany, but about to start a contract in London. First month will be 5 days a week in London, and from then-on each week will be 3 days in London and 2 days working from home in Germany.

Does anyone know what the best options are for me to minimize my taxation?

Many thanks
    Andy

Tricky one. If you do this longterm you'll be tax resident in both places. I know, I do something similar. It is even trickier that you work in Germany and the UK....oooh this is very unusual.

You should talk to a German accountant and a UK accountant, about where tax is due, otherwise you'll get into hot water.

I think quite probably you'll have to work as a German Freiberufler, two days a week and charge the UK Ltd for services provided, to do it truly legally.

However because you're billing in the UK and travelling once a week you could probably do it all through your UK Ltd and declare that income in Germany.

Note ...dividends are taxed twice, i.e. you'll pay on top of UK tax German tax, with credit given for UK tax.

Employment income or Corporate earnings aren't.